Songs From Here & Back

Beach Boys


1. Intro
2. Dance, Dance, Dance
3.Wouldn't It Be Nice
4. Surfer Girl
5. Kokomo
6. Car Medley Intro
7. Little Deuce Coupe
8. I Get Around
9. Good Vibrations
10. Good Vibrations
11. The Spirit Of Rock And Roll
12. PT Cruiser
13. Cool Head, Warm Heart

Alternative Versions

None known of

Album Trivia

Tracks 1 to 9 are live tracks, recorded at the Universal Ampitheater, Universal City, California.
Amongst the live tracks, tracks 3 and 9 are from 1974, and the rest are from 1989.
Released by Hallmark as Father's Day special on 15 May 2006

Website Comments and Review

In the fractured Beach Boys world of the mid-naughties, the very existence of this Hallmark-only release may be a minor miracle. Of course, there is no pretence that this is a unified album of new music. Instead, there are concert tracks from 1974 and 1989, plus one track apiece from Brian, Mike and Al. The lion's share of the concert tracks are from 1989, and this is the album's key point of interest, being the only legal document of the concert era post-Dennis. Brian's Spirit Of Rock And Roll is a strong song that could probably have been done better, but it is nice also to have it legally. Mike's Cool Head, Warm Heart is from a Mike solo album that hasn't been taken up by any record company yet, but is a pleasant track, while Al's PT Cruiser is a standard rocker. All in all, pleasant, nowhere close to a real Beach Boys album but we'll take it for now.

RATING: 7 out of 10

Discussion and reviews from users of this site
Return to the Album Archive
Return to the Track Archive