M.I.U. Album

Beach Boys


1. She's Got Rhythm
2. Come Go With Me
3. Hey Little Tomboy
4. Kona Coast
5. Peggy Sue
6. Wont'cha Come Out Tonight
7. Sweet Sunday Kinda Love
8. Belles Of Paris
9. Pitter Patter
10. My Diane
11. Matchpoint Of Our Love
12. Winds Of Change

Alternative Versions

2000 CD re-issue was a "two-fer" with L.A.(Light Album). There were no bonus tracks.

Album Trivia

Released on Brother-Reprise on September 25, 1978.
Top chart position #151 in the USA, spending 4 weeks on the chart (exactly the same chart performance as Sunflower!)
Failed to chart in the UK, their first album since 1964 to do so.

Website Comments and Review

M.I.U. stands for Maharishi International University, where the album was mostly recorded. The setting and the tranquil cover might lead one to believe that this was a time of inner peace for the group, but it was actually one of great turmoil, as the near-total absence of Carl and Dennis on this album testify. Brian was retreating back into his bad habits, and the record company and the band weren't exactly on the best of terms, especially after a Christmas album at the end of 1977.

Out of the ashes of the Christmas album, and some leftover Brian songs from his creative burst in the mid-70s, this album was born to less than ecstatic critical and public support. Like it's predecessor, Love You, current fans of the group have vastly differing views on this record, although it is fair to the say that they tend to the negative.

Objectively, the record does see a return to the harmonies and smoother voices of earlier albums, compared to the "rough" Love You!. From then on, you're on your own in terms of how the album may impact on you. For me, there are enough magic moments in Brian's quirky My Diane, the moving Winds Of Change and even the too-smooth-by-half Matchpoint Of Our Love that make up for retreads like Kona Coast. The group wasn't exactly a haven of peace at this stage, but the album may have a few moments that do life you up.

RATING: 7 out of 10

Lyrics for this album
Guitar tabs for this album
Discussion and reviews from users of this site
Return to the Album Archive
Return to the Track Archive